Partner Megan Adeyemo Receives ABA Section of Business Law’s Business Bankruptcy Committee Kathryn R. Heidt Memorial Award

October 2021

Gordon Rees Scully Mansukhani Dallas Partner Megan Adeyemo was selected as a winner of the 2021 Kathryn R. Heidt Memorial Award of the American Bar Association's ("ABA") Section of Business Law Business Bankruptcy Committee. 

Kathryn R. Heidt died unexpectedly in May of 2005 at the age of 51.  At the time of her death, she was the chair of the ABA Section of Business Law’s Business Bankruptcy Committee.  This memorial award honors her memory.  She was an accomplished author, scholar, teacher, lawyer and administrator and served in leadership capacities at the American Association of Law School’s Section on Creditors’ and Debtors’ Rights. This award is designed to serve as a lasting tribute to her and to recognize the importance of bankruptcy education and scholarship to the ABA Business Bankruptcy Committee and the bankruptcy profession.

Adeyemo received this annual award during the ABA Business Bankruptcy Committee luncheon at the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges October 7, 2021.  She is also presenting "Getting Young Lawyers into Court" during this event. 

Adeyemo is a partner in the Business Transactions, Bankruptcy, Restructuring, & Creditors’ Rights, Real Estate, D&O and Shareholder Litigation and Banking & Finance practice groups. She is co-chair of the firm’s national Bankruptcy, Restructuring & Creditors' Rights practice group. She has substantial experience in the representation of debtors, creditors and trustees in bankruptcy proceedings throughout the United States. She has represented creditors’ committees, debtors-in-possession, chapter 11 and 7 trustees, liquidating trustees, and secured and unsecured creditors. She has negotiated settlements and debtor-in-possession financing, and drafted asset purchase agreements and other asset transfer documents, including the transfer of intellectual property rights.

To learn more, please click here